• Standing the test of millions of years

    EDAG's design (r)evolution

  • The show must go on

    Using our own technology to get concept and show cars ready for the stage

  • Pedestrian protection doesn't only happen on the road

    When pedestrian protection standards go beyond legal provisions

  • Additive manufacturing (3D printing)

    How the "EDAG Genesis" turned the automobile world upside down

Design Concepts

Future-proof concepts and a design that reflects current tastes

EDAG Design Concepts takes you through strategic product development, from the idea to the physical model, providing complete development support through to the finished product.

Our specialists from the Design Studio, Surface Operations and Physical Models areas ensure that conclusive automobile and product concepts result, and we then apply our innovative strength and method skills to realise these. We come up with far-sighted, unusual and extraordinary solutions that are characterised by a well-developed feeling for material, technical and technological trends, market relevance and future consumer and customer requirements.

Design

EDAG Design Studio – success begins with design

For us, design is far more than just the development of aesthetical forms. Product and brand are inseparably linked and mutually dependent. Ultimately, the final result of the design process must be to strengthen your brand. Our guidelines for product conception and the creative product design process are your brand equity and brand slogan.

more

You profit not only from our brand strategy expertise, but also from our design team's in-depth international experience. Including mastery of all manual and computer-assisted drafting techniques.

The exterior and interior design projects we have successfully completed for national and international customers confirm the efficacy of our design philosophy. Since 1999, we have been using our concept cars (which traditionally have their world premiere at the Geneva Motor Show) to demonstrate the quality of our work and innovative abilities. Numerous international design prizes such as the red dot award, if award and German Design Award reflect the strength of our design skills.

 less

Surface Development

EDAG Surface Operations – perfect surfaces

For Surface Operations surface development is an important interface between design and the downstream development departments. Experienced studio engineers help to find the right balance between design requirements and technical feasibility. One way of doing this is with virtual models, which we use for the initial representation of the three-dimensional design.

more

Styling data and design information are brought together when we are working on the creation of the visible surfaces of a new interior or exterior. In this way, we ensure the feasibility of the design models at each stage of their development. This process begins with the first concept surfaces for the styling check and ends with the handover of the class A surface for series production. This also includes the complex design convergence process.

In addition, we also work with our EDAG-Feynsinn experts to create photorealistic images and virtual reality scenarios. In this way, virtual design models and show cars are created, and these support our work with the model making department.

 less

Model Making

EDAG Physical Models – turning visions into models

Our model making centres create high-precision physical models of future vehicles and products. Craftsmanship, attention to detail and a feeling for perfect surfaces are what characterise our model makers.

more

The parallel design produced by the model making department's development modellers guarantees that a structurally validated basis is established for the models.

At an early stage in the design process, our electric/electronic specialists ensure that HMI, light, lamps and electrical components all work properly. Using state of the art production technology to ensure cost-effective, on-schedule solutions is for us a matter of course.

The following physical models can be created when working on your tasks:

  • Clay models
  • Hard models, solid / see-through
  • Seat boxes for package and colour & trim
  • Clinic models, exterior / interior / combined
  • Driveable show cars with a wide range of functions, e.g. lighting, electrical door drives, etc.
  • Sculptures and special models
  • Prototypes and and low-volume production parts
  • Models for securing function and tolerances
  • Data control models
  • Cubing models
  • Lamps and lighting systems

In line with customer specifications, these models can involve unique, individual technical concepts and solutions, which we develop and realise exclusively – throughout Europe, at the following sites. Fulda, Cologne, Wolfsburg, Rüsselsheim, Ingolstadt, Munich, SindelfingenGyör (H), Mladá Boleslav (CZ), Turin (I), Barcelona (E), Poznan (PL)

 less

• Seit Millionen Jahren bewährt

    Die Design-(R)evolution der EDAG

  • The show must go on

    Mit eigener Technik Showcars Reif für die Bühne machen

  • Sicherheit von Fußgängern geht nicht nur von der Straße aus

    Wenn der Anspruch an Fußgängerschutz über die Gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen hinausgeht

  • Generative Fertigung (3D Druck)

    Wie "EDAG Genesis" die Automobilewelt auf den Kopf stellt

Designkonzepte

ZUKUNFTSFÄHIGE KONZEPTE UND EINE FORM, DIE DEN ZEITGEIST TRIFFT

EDAG Design Concepts begleitet Sie bei der strategischen Produktentwicklung von der Idee bis zum physischen Modell und unterstützt die Gesamtentwicklung bis zum fertigen Produkt.

Unsere Spezialisten aus den Bereichen Design Studio, Surface Operations und Physical Models sorgen dafür, dass schlüssige Automobil- und Produktkonzepte entstehen, die wir mit Innovationskraft und Methodenkompetenz für die Zukunft umsetzen. Wir generieren weitsichtige, ungewohnte und außergewöhnliche Lösungen, die sich durch ein hohes Gespür für Material-, Technik- und Technologietrends, Marktrelevanz sowie zukünftige Konsumenten- und Kundenbedürfnisse auszeichnen.

Design

EDAG Design Studio – Erfolg beginnt im Design

Design bedeutet im EDAG Design Studio weit mehr als die Entwicklung ästhetischer Formen. Denn Produkt und Marke sind untrennbar miteinander verknüpft und voneinander abhängig. Die Stärkung Ihrer Marke muss das finale Ergebnis des Designprozesses sein. Unsere Leitlinie für die Produktkonzeption und den kreativen Produktgestaltungsprozess sind Ihre Markenwerte und Ihre Markenbotschaft.

mehr

Neben der markenstrategischen Expertise profitieren Sie von der internationalen und langjährigen Erfahrung unseres Designteams. Die Beherrschung sämtlicher manuellen und computergestützten Darstellungstechniken inklusive.

Unsere erfolgreichen Designprojekte im Bereich Ex- und Interieur für nationale und internationale Kunden bestätigen uns in unserer Designphilosophie. Seit 1999 stellen wir die Qualität unserer Arbeit und Innovationsfähigkeit mit eigenen Konzeptfahrzeugen unter Beweis, die traditionell auf dem Genfer Automobil Salon ihre Weltprämiere haben. Zahlreiche internationale Designpreise wie red dot award, if-award und German Design Award spiegeln die hohe Gestaltungskompetenz wieder.

 weniger

Surface-Entwicklung

EDAG Surface Operations – Perfekte Flächen

Die Oberflächenentwicklung stellt für Surface Operations eine wichtige Schnittstelle zwischen Design und den nachgelagerten Entwicklungsabteilungen dar. Dabei helfen erfahrene Studio-Ingenieure, die wichtige Balance zwischen den Anforderungen des Designs und der technischen Realisierbarkeit zu finden. Dies erfolgt beispielsweise durch virtuelle Modelle, mit denen wir das erste Mal das Design dreidimensional darstellen.

mehr

Styling-Daten und Informationen aus der Konstruktion führen wir bei der Erstellung sichtbarer Oberflächen eines neuen Ex- oder Interieurs zusammen. So stellen wir die Machbarkeit der Designmodelle in jeder Phase der Entwicklung sicher. Dieser Prozess beginnt mit den ersten Konzeptflächen für die Modellabsicherung bis zur Erstellung der Class-A-Oberfläche für die Serienfertigung. Der komplexe Designkonvergenz-Prozess ist hierbei inklusive.

Mit unseren Spezialisten von EDAG-Feysinn erstellen wir darüber hinaus fotorealistische Abbildungen und Szenen der virtuellen Realität. So entstehen virtuelle Designmodelle und Showcars, die die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Modellbau unterstützen.

 weniger

Modellbau

EDAG Physical Models – Aus Visionen werden Modelle

In unseren Modellbauzentren entstehen physikalische Modelle zukünftiger Fahrzeuge und Produkte in höchster Präzision. Unsere  Modellbauer/-innen zeichnen sich in ihrer Arbeitsweise durch handwerkliches Geschick, Detailtreue und das Gefühl für perfekte Flächen aus.

mehr

Die parallele Konstruktion der Modellbau-Entwicklungsmodelleure stellt sicher, dass die konstruktiv abgesicherten Grundlagen für die Modelle geschaffen werden.

Unsere Spezialisten der E/E tragen frühzeitig im Designprozess dafür Sorge, dass HMI, Licht und Leuchten und elektrische Komponenten die gewünschten Funktionalitäten besitzen.
Wirtschaftliche und termingerechte Lösungen durch den Einsatz modernster Fertigungstechnologien sind für uns selbstverständlich.

So können Ihrer Aufgabenstellung folgend physische Modelle entstehen wie:

  • Claymodelle
  • Hardmodelle Solid / See Through
  • Sitzkisten für Package und Color & Trim
  • Klinikmodelle Exterieur / Interieur / kombiniert
  • Fahrbare Showcars mit unterschiedlichsten Funktionen wie Beleuchtung, elektrische Türantriebe usw.
  • Skulpturen und Sondermodelle
  • Prototypen- und Kleinserienteile
  • Modelle zur Funktions- und Toleranzabsicherung
  • Datenkontrollmodelle
  • Cubingmodelle
  • Leuchten und Lichtsysteme

Diese Modelle können Kundenvorgaben folgend einzigartige, individuelle technische Konzepte und Lösungen beinhalten, die wir exklusiv entwickeln und realisieren – europaweit an den Standorten Fulda, Köln, Wolfsburg, Rüsselsheim, Ingolstadt, München, SindelfingenGyör (H), Mladá Boleslav (CZ), Turin (I), Barcelona (E), Poznan (PL)

 weniger